Category Archives: bta

PEACETALK: Bangsamoro Basic Law: Towards a Just and Dignified Peace

(Sponsorship Speech on Senate Bill No. 1717 or the “Bangsamoro Basic Law” under Committee Report No. 255, delivered by Senator Juan Miguel F. Zubiri, chair of the Senate Sub-committee on BBL, on 28 February 2018) Mr. President, distinguished colleagues, I am honored to sponsor a landmark bill, with so much promise, with so much hope […]

The post PEACETALK: Bangsamoro Basic Law: Towards a Just and Dignified Peace appeared first on MindaNews.

Delay in passage of BBL expected as draft Bangsamoro law has yet to reach Congress

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews /15 August) — Delay in the passage of the Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) is to be expected as the draft law, as of August 14, has yet to reach Congress exactly four Mondays after its submission to President Rodrigo Duterte in Malacanang. House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez, Jr. last month announced he was […]

Duterte to BTC: “navigate the hindrances and obstructions; find a way to peace”

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 24 February) — “Navigate the hindrances and obstructions. Hanapin ninyo ang daan hanggang patungo sa kapayapaan” (Find a way to peace), President Rodrigo Duterte urged members of the expanded Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC) at the launch late Friday afternoon at the Garden Pavilion of the Waterfront Insular Hotel. It will be […]

Whatever happened to the Bangsamoro Transition Commission?

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 08 February) —  Only five months left to July when the 21-member Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC), according to the Duterte administration’s peace roadmap, is supposed to submit its draft Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) to Congress. As of February 8, however, the BTC has yet to be set up. Presidential Adviser on […]

GPH, MILF implementing panels await EO on Bangsamoro Transition Commission

DAVAO CITY (Mindanews / 15  October) – The peace implementing panels of the government (GPH) and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) are awaiting the signing of the Executive Order on the creation of the 21-member Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC) that would draft the law for the Bangsamoro, the new autonomous political entity that would […]